• Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle

Writer Samantha Miles

Director Simon Panayi

Producer James Ashfield

Composer Jordan Shiel

Performers

James Ashfield, Samantha Miles, Simon Panayi, Laura Potente, Elliot Sargent, Jordan Shiel.

Coat? Check.

Tent? Check.

A father’s lifelong ambition to complete? Check.

 

Charlie is about to embark on the journey that her late father never did. To find the one bird that had eluded him, to rekindle their lost relationship.

 

A beautiful, joyous, handmade adventure with puppetry, music, and a girl that just really wants to see a bird.

Age Recommendation: 8+

Running Time: 55 minutes (no interval)

 

Winner of

The NSDF Festgoer's Award

The Sunday Times Playwriting Award

The Buzz Goodbody Director Award

 

★★★★ The Stage

★★★★ The Reviews Hub

★★★★ The 730 Review

★★★★★ North West End

'Delicate, inventive work from a talented company' 

Lyn Gardner

'Minimalist, imaginative and wonderful'

Exeunt Magazine

'Exceptional'

Sunday Times

 

'Delightful'

Mark Shenton

 

'Turns the mundane into the magical'

Noises Off Magazine

THE SEARCH FOR A BLACK BROWED ALBATROSS

CREDITS

TOUR DATES

 

EDINBURGH FRINGE FESTIVAL (WORK-IN-PROGRESS)

 

Underbelly Cowgate, Big Belly

Tuesday 15 August, 12.40pm 

CAMDEN PEOPLE'S THEATRE

 

Tuesday 13 March, 7.30pm

NATIONAL STUDENT DRAMA FESTIVAL

 

De Montfort, Leicester

Monday 26 March - Friday 30 March 2018

INCOMING FESTIVAL

 

New Diorama Theatre

Monday 2 July 7pm

Home, Manchester 

Wednesday 4 July 8.30pm

EDINBURGH FRINGE FESTIVAL

Pleasance Dome, King Dome

Wednesday 1 - Thursday 9 August 3.30pm

LINCOLN PERFORMING ARTS CENTRE

Friday 21 September 7.30pm

NEW WOLSEY THEATRE

Tuesday 25 September 7.30pm

PLEASANCE THEATRE - LONDON

Friday 12 October 7.30pm

NOTTINGHAM NEW THEATRE

Monday 18 February 7.30pm

Tuesday 19 February 7.30pm

Would you like to work with The Backpack Ensemble?

 

If so then please contact James at thebackpackensemble@gmail.com to discuss how we can visit your venue, university or school hall! 

We also offer workshops alongside our shows.